Visit site
✟25,473.00
Faith
Atheist
Marital Status
Private
Politics
US-Others
I have been posting on the internet for a few years now, and have learned in this time that there are many difference between American Evangelical Christianity, and that of the rest of the world. Some things as much as denominational distinctions are different in Germany. For example a friend of mine attended the only evangelical type services they could find and they were held at a Baptist church, but were Charismatic in practice. The Baptist name on the door in America generally means not Charismatic at all.

I just thought this might be a good topic to discuss, since we have forums specifically for British Christians, ect. Many if not most of the Christians that post here are American, and have no idea how the rest of the world does things. We Americans tend to think that the way we do it is the right/Biblical way, and that isn't necessarily so.

eldermike

Pray
Site Supporter
Mar 24, 2002
NC
Visit site
✟20,209.00
Faith
Baptist
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
Good subject!

I am curretly taking "mentoring" in my studies. There are dramatic differences in what is considered mentoring depending on the culture. Same is true for church fellowships. Americans tend to be indenpendant thinkers and if we were to really face it; we are relationally challanged. We like the empty seat next to us in church, it's our space.
Our cultural expereinces impact our abilities to relate to people. It should go without saying that this is a problem, God works through relationships.

I hope we have some activity in this thread. I could use the research material.

Upvote 0

wvmtnkid

Order of the Candle
May 29, 2002
West Virginia
Visit site
✟10,466.00
Faith
Methodist
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Republican
I went on a mission trip to Jamaica a few years ago, and I was really touched by the church services we attended down there. "The church" made up these people's lives.