Difference between Fundamentalist and Conservative Christians?

May 14, 2012
Toronto
✟7,667.00
Faith
Other Religion
Marital Status
Single
I'm actually new to all the various "types" of Christians included in the various faith groups, and found it interesting to read the "statement of purpose" for many of them.

I assume there will always be some overlap, and not everyone will fall squarely into a single group, but I'm confused as to the differences between fundamentalist and conservative Christians? Reading the provided descriptions, I can't decide which one I better fit in to (not that I'm in any way needing to define myself; this is just curiosity) as they both seem to be about the same thing?

DeaconDean

γέγονα χαλκὸς, κύμβαλον ἀλαλάζον
Jul 19, 2005
Gastonia N.C. (Piedmont of N.C.)
✟100,334.00
Faith
Baptist
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
I'm actually new to all the various "types" of Christians included in the various faith groups, and found it interesting to read the "statement of purpose" for many of them.

I assume there will always be some overlap, and not everyone will fall squarely into a single group, but I'm confused as to the differences between fundamentalist and conservative Christians? Reading the provided descriptions, I can't decide which one I better fit in to (not that I'm in any way needing to define myself; this is just curiosity) as they both seem to be about the same thing?

If you read the SoF's for both areas, you would notice one item that "Conservative Christians" hold to that Fundamentalists do not:

Some conservative Christians also hold church tradition to be a source of authority.

http://www.christianforums.com/t7395085/

But I must say, "conservative" can and often does meaning something totally different.

But I do not know any Fundamentalist who holds to "tradition" as a source of authority.

God Bless

Till all are one.

Upvote 0

Rhamiel

Member of the Round Table
Nov 11, 2006
ohio
✟241,111.00
Faith
Catholic