Dangers of JIT (Just-in-Time) stocking of grocery stores

SavedByGrace3

Jesus is Lord of ALL! (Not asking permission)
Site Supporter
Jun 6, 2002
Midlands
Visit site
✟562,839.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
I was a Process Team Coach back in the early 90s. One of the principles of management of industrial stock was "Just in Time" stocking. Meaning that you only ever have just enough material in your stock for the next day or even hour. This reduces the the need for stocking raw material and hence reduces the cost. Works pretty good if you can plan it out correctly. Using this method you could actually shut down the plant any time and never have more than a hour or two of raw material laying around. Good for manufacturing... but not good for everything... specifically grocery stores.
The JIT (just in time) concept has finally made it to your local supermarket. Meaning that your local super market will only have enough groceries in stock to fill the shelves for a day! Time was your grocery store manager could run "in the back" and pull another plat of rice or tomatoes out to the floor. No more, once they are out they are out. If for any reason the trucks stop running.. your local supermarket may have as little as what is on the shelves. Not good for a stuff hits the fan scenario. The nation is being set up for famine.
I promote the idea that everyone is a prepper. You either "plan-prep" now, or you "panic-prep" on the day the Stuff hits the fan. JIT would seem to further thwart the plans of the panic-prepper. By the time you get there... there will be nothing left. I am waiting to see the effects of JIT on hurricane and snow storm catastrophes.
I also promote the idea that people will do anything to save their family from starvation... including riot, robbing, even attacking people. Including "good" people. Hence, if your plan is to panic-prep, go ahead and include robbing as a part of your plan.