Central Time Zone
✟107,193.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private
Let me first ask that we maintain a Berean Spirit, a love for one another as brothers and sister in Christ. Please understand, I am not wanting to stir anything up, neither desire to arouse bickering, keep it civil.

With that said, please explain how CT and Disp are not and cannot be complimentary or compatible, and how or if CT refutes Disp?

Also as a secondary, I would like to know how they effect or contact other biblical doctrines.

Keep in mind, I am not an expert in either, and for a long time I have been curious about this "issue". Please try to make it simple as possible, I would like to learn. Thank you, and God bless. :)

Reactions: JM
P

prov1810

All quotations below are from Dispensationalism, by Charles Ryrie:

[In Covenant Theology,] the covenant of grace is the governing category by which all Scripture is to be understood.

The unifying principle of normative dispensationalism is doxological, or the glory of God, for the dispensations reveal the glory of God as He manifests His character in the differing stewardships given to man.

Salvation, for all of its wonder, is but one facet of the multifaceted diamond of the glory of God.

But covenant theology makes the all-encompassing means of manifesting the glory of God the plan of redemption. Thus, for all practical purposes, covenant theology uses redemption as its unifying principle.