Buffalo NY
✟15,340.00
Country
United States
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married
I am a student of iconography and very drawn to the Coptic style, especially that of Issac Fanous. Is there any one out there who can guide my to a teacher in the Buffalo New York area? Does anyone know the color palette used?

Thank you
Jackie G

• Friendly
Reactions: anna ~ grace

dzheremi

Coptic Orthodox non-Egyptian
Aug 27, 2014
✟428,962.00
Country
United States
Faith
Oriental Orthodox
Marital Status
Private
Hi Jackie. Welcome to CF. I don't know anything about the technical aspects of iconography, but you might want to try to get in contact with the people at the monastery of St. Shenouda the Archimandrite in Rochester. It's a little ways from Buffalo, but I visited there some years ago, and from what I remember they had plenty of Coptic icons, both in the 'neo-Coptic' style of Isaac Fanous and in the earlier (I don't know what you'd call it; 'pre-neo', I guess?) style, a la Yuhanna El Armani (iconographer whose work is in the Hanging Church in Cairo) or others from the 18th-19th centuries.

• Friendly
Reactions: anna ~ grace
Upvote 0

Tigger45

Pray like your life depends on it!
Site Supporter
Aug 24, 2012
E. Eden
✟1,270,986.00
Country
United States
Faith
Pentecostal
Marital Status
Private
Politics
US-Constitution
Hi Jackie. Welcome to CF. I don't know anything about the technical aspects of iconography, but you might want to try to get in contact with the people at the monastery of St. Shenouda the Archimandrite in Rochester. It's a little ways from Buffalo, but I visited there some years ago, and from what I remember they had plenty of Coptic icons, both in the 'neo-Coptic' style of Isaac Fanous and in the earlier (I don't know what you'd call it; 'pre-neo', I guess?) style, a la Yuhanna El Armani (iconographer whose work is in the Hanging Church in Cairo) or others from the 18th-19th centuries.