Brighton, UK
✟122,682.00
Country
United Kingdom
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
I have been a Christian for over 20 years and for a large part of that time the church I go to has been very orientated towards worshiping God the Father. This has go to to the point where Jesus is hardly mentioned any more. I have been saying for many years that I felt there should be a more balanced view of worshiping God and that we needed more of a focus on Jesus as well as the Father. This has fallen on deaf ears so I am now looking for a church with a more balanced view of worshiping God.

I tend to use the greatest commandment in Mark 12:29-30 as a means to point out what I feel is lacking in my walk with God in my church. The key part being "The Lord our God is one Lord". For me this is clear that it is saying we should love all persons of the Godhead, Father, Son and Holy spirit. In my church it is only the Father.

I have been taught in the past that we should not worship the Holy Spirit, but I believe that the Holy Spirit is God and as such is worthy to be praised. I am always humble enough to allow myself to be corrected so have in the past blindly accepted this, but my walk with God is nowhere near what it used to be. I have a longing for the relationship that I once had and I believe it is the skewed focusing on one part of the trinity that is at least partly responsible.