Manchester
✟18,030.00
Country
United Kingdom
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
ive been stumped by a good member on here regarding personifying earth as a "she" Without questioning why. Now this has got me thinking...
Jesus was a man, yet the word Christ is been mentioned in Isiah 32.1 as a King.

This must mean a masculine idea.
Jesus is saviour, Christ Massiah( Annointed One) and also as King. Now I'm new to bible study and have only read Matthew and John up to now.

So why is the Christ a masculine term. It wasn't mentioned he was Queen.
Forgive me if I'm barking up the wrong tree here, im also new to Christianity.
I've heard it mention " in Christ" and wonder what masculine state I ought to be in if this is the case. Neither do I know if I'm saved( but that's another question for later)

Thankyou and Blessings to all.
Ps. Im not sure whether this post fits here in creation. But I can't find isiah in my New Testament bible. So I'm assuming it's in one of the old testament books.
But if it is in Creation book, does that mean Christ is some sort of creative act?

ViaCrucis

Confessional Lutheran
Oct 2, 2011
Pacific Northwest
✟732,195.00
Country
United States
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
In Relationship
Politics
US-Others
We often "personify" things, and thus often ascribe gender to genderless things. We often refer to ships, and by extension all vehicles and machines as "her". Referring to the earth as "she" is pretty similar, the earth isn't female, because giant balls of rock floating in space don't have gender, but we might still say "she" when speaking more poetically rather than literally. Literally, the earth is an "it"; but we might poetically describe the earth as "she". It's really just a matter of how language is used which is fuzzy and fluid depending a lot on context.

-CryptoLutheran

Upvote 0

eldios

May 12, 2017
San Franscisco
✟1,466.00
Country
United States
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Legal Union (Other)