exactly opposite of where I'd rather be
✟17,048.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
I am a classically trained pianist and am trying to get my degree in music, for the second time. My professors don't like me because I won't conform to the horrible noise they try to call music. It's awful and completely turns me off to wanting to be a musician. How can anyone live through this and call it art? being subjected through this torture, I have found it's more of a science than art. Are there anymore traditional classical musicians out there? I almost feel as if it has been lost.
Here is an example of what they are trying to conform me to:Experimental Music and Noise Event - YouTube

markb77

Nov 20, 2011
✟16,859.00
Faith
Baptist
Marital Status
Married
The tone of your post makes me wonder if you are at a school where your particular talents will be appreciated. If you are unhappy with what you are being taught (and forced to study), you may want to consider finding a school that fits closer to your taste in music. Just a thought. Good luck. We need all the good music teachers we can get.

Upvote 0

FlameAlchemist

Mustang
Oct 21, 2013
Some beach, somewhere
✟7,854.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Libertarian
I am a classically trained pianist and am trying to get my degree in music, for the second time. My professors don't like me because I won't conform to the horrible noise they try to call music. It's awful and completely turns me off to wanting to be a musician. How can anyone live through this and call it art? being subjected through this torture, I have found it's more of a science than art. Are there anymore traditional classical musicians out there? I almost feel as if it has been lost.
Here is an example of what they are trying to conform me to:Experimental Music and Noise Event - YouTube