Visit site
✟22,039.00
Faith
Atheist
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
Anyone here work in the biomed/bioengineering or associated fields?

I have a degree in psychology (neuropsych/pharmokinetics) but no laboratory experience.

I'd like to get into a laboratory field, but I can't seem to get a break. I would start as a lab slave, washing cages and such, but can't find a lab where that's not a dead end.

I know I'm capable of learning anything they need me to know quickly, and work with the equipment with minimal training, but no one will give me a chance.

Any suggestions?

Deamiter

I just follow Christ.
Nov 10, 2003
Visit site
✟25,025.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
I have to admit that I know very little about the bioengineering field but I would think that you could start in one of two routes. First, you would go back to school (at a grad school) and start taking related classes. In that case, it is very true that your undergrad degree is very unimportant, though you will need to have a basis in biology before you take advanced classes. That would be the route for a full career in bioengineering and it'd probably take you three years to complete (you'd probably be able to get the sort of low-level job you're looking for after a year or so).

Otherwise, you could train at a community college to be a lab technician. However, with a cheap two-year degree, you certainly wouldn't be looking at a career -- it'd be a dead end which doesn't sound like your thing.