Bill Weise (23 Minutes in Hell). Is this man a fraud?

fearingdeath

Oct 7, 2012
✟15,209.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Single
Last night, the church that I attend had a guest speaker. His name was Bill Weise, and he seemed pretty convincing. However, I was still left with mix feelings. I heard him cite well known sources such as Strong's concordance and Matthew Henry, along with some reasonable sounding scripture verses. Do you believe this man's story coincides with scripture? Or is he phony? The only things that I can currently agree with is just simply the concept of not keeping the topic of hell so taboo, considering it's a real place. I feel that Christians tend to preach the "Jesus loves you" side so much that people end up reading about the suffering and the tragedy in the bible making it feel exaggerated rather than there being that balance of truths, or sides of the story. I'm rather new to scripture. I've started the new testament 3-4 months ago and finished it and read the 9 books out of the old, and a glance at a few other books. I'm not that strong in scripture, so I'm trying, and that's why I look to other sources for truth.

Here is one article I found claiming the man is a fraud:
jcmasters7.blogspot.com/2008/01/why-i-dont-believe-bill-wiese-went-to.html said:
Occasionally, my research for my upcoming book, "What the Hell? Simple Answers to Life's Most Burning Questions", takes me to the testimonies and personal experiences of others regarding Hell.
Recently, I came across the book, "23 Minutes In Hell", by Bill Wiese. Now, I don't know Bill Wiese and I have nothing against the man. In fact, as a fellow Christian, I am overjoyed that he is seeking to spread the gospel in his own way. However, after reading his book, cover to cover, I was left thinking that either the man was deceived, or was intentionally pushing an agenda. Not knowing him, as I said, I dare not conjecture which.