Being Greek Orthodox in a sometimes aggressive American/Protestant culture

B

BlueLioness

The worst part about it all is that he thinks I worship Mary.

I'm a veteran Christian too and I've been studying the Holy Bible my whole life as well.

First of all I can say, is that he is wrong about you because the only denomination that worships Mary and the Saints are the Catholics, and you are not Catholic, you are Orthodox. There are like, hundreds of other denominations out there that do not worship Mary and the Saints, thankfully (after all, God commands that God alone be worshiped and even the angels reject worship). The Catholics and the Orthodox are two completely different denominations each with their own sets of beliefs. They are not the same thing.

So you see, he doesn't know everything about Christianity (or even you for that matter) despite his sinful bragging (God makes it clear in the Bible that we are not to boast or get glory for ourselves).

You go and tell him that.

Angels rejecting worship: Rev 19:10 And I fell at his feet to worship him. And he said unto me, See thou do it not: I am thy fellowservant, and of thy brethren that have the testimony of Jesus: worship God: for the testimony of Jesus is the spirit of prophecy.

Boasting prohibited: Gal 5:26 Let us not be desirous of vain glory, provoking one another, envying one another.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
B

BlueLioness

Early on when I was first starting to attend church down in Louisiana. I visited one of my co-worker and friend's home one night, and her grandmother was there. Strong Southern Baptist lady. She asked me what my religion was, and I told her I was Greek Orthodox. She said she was Baptist and that her church goes all the way back to John the Baptist himself. I said "I see." and did this ->
smiley-sealed.gif
lol

Well I am a Baptist too but I am not going to boast about it as if it is the greatest thing in the world...sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssshhhhhhhhh........

Upvote 0