sparkle123

Site Supporter
May 1, 2015
✟64,572.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Hi all. It's been a while since I've posted here, so a short introduction: I converted about 2 years ago from a western form of Buddhism/agnosticism. My husband did not convert and has no apparent interest but has been supportive. I've had trouble connecting with people at my church my own age. It's a big church and I am new to church culture, don't feel like I fit in easy due to background, I'm introverted, etc.

Anyway. I had my first child, my daughter, a few weeks ago. Hooray! She's such a blessing and I am overjoyed to get to be her mother, sleepless nights and all. I want her to be baptized and I plan to do my best to raise her in the faith. I only speak to a few people in my church with any regularity. The couple I asked to sponsor/godparent declined due to their age, which makes sense but leaves me with no one else I actually speak to or know. The other person I know is more nominal with her faith and not really practicing. Then there's my godparent. So... I have two options, I suppose. Ask someone I don't really know or talk to my priest about the situation. It's really humbling and difficult. I do "know" one family down the street that invite my husband and I over when I converted but we didn't keep in touch after. They are very pious seeming, active in church, etc... but I don't know them and haven't spoke at all during this pregnancy. And this seems like a big thing to ask (godparents).

I've been pretty sad over this I don't know what to do. There are several women from the church bringing meals over as part of a church hospitality thing postpartum but many of them I don't even recognize the names. I am very grateful for the generosity but again, I just don't have friendships with these folks. Any suggestions or experiences you share would be helpful. And of course, I know I can talk to my priest, I'm just wondering if I should reach out to others instead/as well..