Visit site
✟3,986.00
Faith
Calvinist
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Constitution
Hi everyone. I'm still fairly new to the Reformed Faith (just started learning about 5 years ago and just recently started attending an OPC we hope to become members of.) I grew up in the CoC and attended there until I was about 22. Since becoming Reformed my father, sister, and brother-in-law have questioned me a lot and debated me on things like free will and sovereignty and my quoting of Puritans and Reformers. Has anyone debated CoC members? How do you refute their positions on things like baptismal regeneration and free will? Are there any resources you'd recommend that are clear and concise? Thanks!

St_Worm2

Simul Justus et Peccator
Site Supporter
Jan 28, 2002
✟2,924,171.00
Country
United States
Faith
Calvinist
Marital Status
Married
Hi everyone. I'm still fairly new to the Reformed Faith (just started learning about 5 years ago and just recently started attending an OPC we hope to become members of.) I grew up in the CoC and attended there until I was about 22. Since becoming Reformed my father, sister, and brother-in-law have questioned me a lot and debated me on things like free will and sovereignty and my quoting of Puritans and Reformers. Has anyone debated CoC members? How do you refute their positions on things like baptismal regeneration and free will? Are there any resources you'd recommend that are clear and concise? Thanks!

Hi IH, I know many CoC's. I have a number of them in my family and was part of a CoC sponsored prison ministry (the ministry staff and workers were quite ecumenical however).

I assume their Scriptural arguments for baptismal regeneration are from Mark 16:16 and 2 Peter 3:21. Are their others as well? Also, what other kinds of arguments have you faced from them concerning this subject?