Visit site
✟134,848.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Single
Being a classical guitarist I am made constantly aware of just how important the hand is in making us human. Coupled with our superior brain it makes possible all motions needed in order to manipulate instruments such as pencils and pens, tweezers, or quick dexterous assembling of mechanical parts of machines which we conceive. Without the thumb and we become unable to manipulate our external world as we have done. Below is a short summary of how the hand is put together.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
hand-ligaments.jpg

Ligaments of the back of the hand

Hand Ligaments are tough bands of fibrous tissue that join bones together. Six major ligaments give stability to the wrist by joining the radius to the carpal bones and binding the two rows of carpal bones together. These ligaments joint with others to link the wrist to the hand.

Joint Capsule
Other stabilizers in the hand include joint capsules, which are made of fibrous connective tissue that surrounds the joints. A synovial membrane inside the joint capsules provides synovial fluid to lubricate all the joints.

Hand Nerves
The median, radial and ulnar nerves are the three major nerves that run the length of the arm through the wrist and down into the hand. These nerves contract specific muscles and gives us sensations of touch, and to feel hot, cold, and pain.
Anatomy of Hand & Wrist: Bones, Muscles, Tendons, Nerves, Pictures

Last edited:
Reactions: brinny

FrumiousBandersnatch

Mar 20, 2009
✟326,329.00
Faith
Atheist
Did humans becoming bipedal play a part in our hands developing differently?
I guess opposable thumbs are no particular hindrance to knuckle-walking, but bipedalism frees the hands for carrying and throwing, so I suspect bipedalism would select for refinements in the shoulders and wrists as much as the hands.

I'm guessing here...

Upvote 0

Jimmy D

Dec 11, 2014