Jesus- Lover of My Soul!
Jan 29, 2006
Maryland
✟7,285.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
I totally believe in creation- evolution goes against what my God has done but i was just wondering what someone who believes in evolution would say about this.

If evolutuion is true- and the earth has been around for billions of years and humans have evolved from very primitve beings, why are there still babies born with abnormailities. Beings evolve to adapt and become more advanced than their ancestors. So, evoluiotn has had billions of years to get this right- yet still there are deformalities, people with genetic diseases. Just wondering how people would respond to what I feel is a strike towards evolution. (BTW- I am a teacher - I have had to teach evolution as a theory- which is in fact what is it). Also, if we evolved from ape like beings- why are they still here?

michabo

reason, evidence
Nov 11, 2003
Vancouver, BC
Visit site
✟14,055.00
Faith
Atheist
heatherwayno said:
If evolutuion is true- and the earth has been around for billions of years and humans have evolved from very primitve beings, why are there still babies born with abnormailities.
Because of abnormal chemicals or hormones during development (e.g.: thalidomide), recessive genes which rarely express themselves, mutations, or genes which may be advantageous during other circumstances.

If you would like something more specific, can you give us a specific example?
Beings evolve to adapt and become more advanced than their ancestors.
There's no such thing as an animal which is more or less advanced. We have all been on the planet for the same amount of time, and so we are all equally evolved.

You may be thinking of the representation of human ancestors walking more and more upright, implying a direction, and implying that we are the end goal. But this is not an accurate representation of evolution in general.
Also, if we evolved from ape like beings- why are they still here?