✟11,206.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
Hey all,

I'm not just new to Christian Forums, I'm new to Christianity too. The first part of my adult life was about my career and trying to enjoy life as much as I could. I had no real direction except I wanted to do something important in high-tech. My career progressed well; I steadily gained more responsibility over 15 years to the point I was managing a large operation for a well-known company. Out of nowhere, my luck ran out. My body collapsed, my mind began failing me. That began a dark period which continues to this day, lasting 6 years so far. I've made some recovery, but my life has completely changed- and can do a fraction of what I once could.

Whereas I once played tennis at a club 2-3x a week, weightlifted, surfed on weekends - today I am fortunate if I can do a 20 minute walk. Whereas I once could work non-stop for weeks, my cognitive abilities permit me a few hours/day, so I consult where I can. The experience has been humbling, to say the very least.

All my life I focused on "what I wanted to be"; now much of that seems out of reach. I went to a Catholic High School years back (though I never converted) and I recall one of the teachers asking, think about "Who you want to be, not just What you want to be". I tucked that question away for 20 years, and now that much of my professional goals seem out of reach, it has forced me to answer that question- and realize how significant it was all along.

I turned to God at the beginning of May through a set of chance incidents (which may not have been chance after all). And had a conversion experience where I accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior. It has been a tremendous month for me in terms of gaining hope about the future. I dove into the Bible, was fortunate to join a Church Group in my area of caring people, and am excited to learn more about Jesus. Look forward to learning and being part of this great community!

SeventyOne