What is your favourite genre in literature and what do you think it says about you?

K

kitty.lover

I used to think that a persons interests reflected certain aspects of that individuals character.

This theory has been challenged by my own interests. For example I am a mental health professional and agony aunt to my friends and family. I like to think of myself as a caring person and a woman of faith.

Yet my favourite books seem to involve a great deal of murder and mayhem; I read a lot of Martina Cole whose books are really quite brutal and I read them and actually gasp at the violence. Yet I am hooked.

I sit and wonder if under my compassionate facade; I am really a bit of a sick puppy? Or do I read these books because they are the complete antithesis of my real world.

Surely my literary interests should reflect my personality. What do you think?

Jesus4Me24

Aug 13, 2006
Germany
✟15,710.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
My favorite geners are Historical books. Whether it from from the 1800's (civil, western, etc....) or anything else. I'm not sure what it says about me, but I would love to visit that time period and see first hand what it was like to live like I've read. :D

Upvote 0

SSior.27

May 31, 2009
Colorado Springs, CO
✟15,226.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
It's an odd concept considering my preferences are mixed with sci-fi, Agatha Christie murder mysteries, and some fantasy. Oh, and throw in some general fiction in there, lol. Then again, maybe not that odd, seeing as I'm a Jack-of-all-trades in life and at work, little bit of everything, and maybe it's reflected in this assortment of genres?

Upvote 0

keith99

sola dosis facit venenum
Jan 16, 2008
✟318,690.00
Faith
Atheist
Marital Status
Single