1. Welcome to Christian Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Christianity in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting after you have posted 20 posts and have received 5 likes.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

  2. Please check out our two newest forums, the "Buy, Sell or Trade" (link ) forum in the Society Category, and the "Conspiracy Theories" (link) forum in our Discussion and Debate Category.

Walmart lollipops? (anyone please)

Discussion in 'Messianic Judaism' started by JRSut1000, Jun 4, 2012.

  1. JRSut1000

    JRSut1000 Newbie no more!

    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marital Status:
    Married
    Faith:
    Messianic
    Lately I've been getting Walmart's special "2 for $1" lollipops, you know the big ones that come in root beer float, orange creamsible, etc flavors. Does anyone know if these are kosher or not? I had 1 lollipop this morning and Im really super shaky right now!
     
  2. ChavaK

    ChavaK להיות טוב ולעשות טוב

    Messages:
    7,261
    Likes Received:
    23
    Gender:
    Female
    Marital Status:
    Widow/Widower
    Politics:
    US-Republican
    Faith:
    Judaism
    If they are kosher, they'll have a hechsher on them.
    Maybe a sugar overload?
     
  3. ChavaK

    ChavaK להיות טוב ולעשות טוב

    Messages:
    7,261
    Likes Received:
    23
    Gender:
    Female
    Marital Status:
    Widow/Widower
    Politics:
    US-Republican
    Faith:
    Judaism
    If they are kosher, they'll have a hechsher on them.
    Maybe a sugar overload? Hope you feel better soon.
     
  4. Gxg (G²)

    Gxg (G²) Pilgrim/Monastic on the Road to God (Psalm 84:1-7) CF Ambassador

    Messages:
    17,696
    Likes Received:
    8
    Marital Status:
    Private
    Politics:
    US-Others
    Faith:
    Oriental-Orthodox
    How would Lollipops be non-kosher?
     
  5. JRSut1000

    JRSut1000 Newbie no more!

    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marital Status:
    Married
    Faith:
    Messianic
    Idk, maybe some shellfish or pork ingredient, lol. I know there are lollipops that are indeed unkosher (saw a list of foods on a website, cant remember the name or link).
     
  6. Lulav

    Lulav Messianic Maven Supporter

    Messages:
    14,240
    Likes Received:
    155
    Gender:
    Female
    Marital Status:
    Private
    Faith:
    Messianic
    I've never heard of them, but I do know that root beer needs to be kosher, else you could be eating unkosher animal ingredients. I don't think that would make you shaky though, have you had problems with your blood sugar before? Have you eaten a good b'fast and lunch?
     
  7. visionary

    visionary Your God is my God... Ruth said, so say I. Supporter

    Messages:
    44,696
    Likes Received:
    232
    Gender:
    Female
    Faith:
    Messianic
  8. JRSut1000

    JRSut1000 Newbie no more!

    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marital Status:
    Married
    Faith:
    Messianic
    These weren't dum-dums, idk how to explain them. They are fairly big, I remember being in high school and it was a pretty big deal when every so many months we could buy these types of lollipops at school.
     
  9. visionary

    visionary Your God is my God... Ruth said, so say I. Supporter

    Messages:
    44,696
    Likes Received:
    232
    Gender:
    Female
    Faith:
    Messianic
    are they organic or have anything special about them?
     
  10. JRSut1000

    JRSut1000 Newbie no more!

    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marital Status:
    Married
    Faith:
    Messianic
    YAY!! They ARE kosher! :) They are called Cream Swirls: Gourmet. (I was VERY careful how I unwrapped the clear wrapper and checked it out)
     
  11. ChavaK

    ChavaK להיות טוב ולעשות טוב

    Messages:
    7,261
    Likes Received:
    23
    Gender:
    Female
    Marital Status:
    Widow/Widower
    Politics:
    US-Republican
    Faith:
    Judaism
    Are you going off the ingredient list to determine if they are kosher? And I assume you are using Messianic standards as far as kosher?
    Some times the ingredient list doesn't tell the whole story.
    :wave:
     
  12. JRSut1000

    JRSut1000 Newbie no more!

    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marital Status:
    Married
    Faith:
    Messianic
    I could tell cuz it had the kosher symbol on it, if it's kosher by rabbinical standards it wont go against 'messianic' kosher since the rabbinical is much more strict.
     
  13. visionary

    visionary Your God is my God... Ruth said, so say I. Supporter

    Messages:
    44,696
    Likes Received:
    232
    Gender:
    Female
    Faith:
    Messianic
    wheeeew... glad to hear that.
     
  14. ChavaK

    ChavaK להיות טוב ולעשות טוב

    Messages:
    7,261
    Likes Received:
    23
    Gender:
    Female
    Marital Status:
    Widow/Widower
    Politics:
    US-Republican
    Faith:
    Judaism
    Cool!:thumbsup:
     
  15. Lulav

    Lulav Messianic Maven Supporter

    Messages:
    14,240
    Likes Received:
    155
    Gender:
    Female
    Marital Status:
    Private
    Faith:
    Messianic
    Chavak, isn't there something in non kosher root beer that comes from a beaver or cat? I can't remember what it is but I remember there's something in the flavoring of artificial root beer that comes from unkosher animals.
     
  16. JRSut1000

    JRSut1000 Newbie no more!

    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marital Status:
    Married
    Faith:
    Messianic
    Wow, Ive not heard that. Which brand? Any popular ones?
     
  17. ChavaK

    ChavaK להיות טוב ולעשות טוב

    Messages:
    7,261
    Likes Received:
    23
    Gender:
    Female
    Marital Status:
    Widow/Widower
    Politics:
    US-Republican
    Faith:
    Judaism
    there is a flavoring that comes from "beaver butt", LOL.....some kind of oil that comes from the anal glands of beavers (yuck!). It's used in some vanilla flavorings.

    If people only knew the half of what they put in their mouth....
     
  18. visionary

    visionary Your God is my God... Ruth said, so say I. Supporter

    Messages:
    44,696
    Likes Received:
    232
    Gender:
    Female
    Faith:
    Messianic
    The secretions from the anal glands of beavers is called castor or castoreum. I just don't know of any beaver farms where they are harvesting the secretions from these glands.
     
  19. ChavaK

    ChavaK להיות טוב ולעשות טוב

    Messages:
    7,261
    Likes Received:
    23
    Gender:
    Female
    Marital Status:
    Widow/Widower
    Politics:
    US-Republican
    Faith:
    Judaism
    Maybe they have come up with a synthetic version?
     
  20. visionary

    visionary Your God is my God... Ruth said, so say I. Supporter

    Messages:
    44,696
    Likes Received:
    232
    Gender:
    Female
    Faith:
    Messianic
    The visual imagery boggles the mind..., somewhere out in the farm lands of america is a farmer milking the beaver glands and selling the excretions for $$$$$$ an ounce... In the help wanted section of the local paper in the job section is ... Help Wanted... Milking beaver butts $45 per hour... part-time work ... once every three months... please call 000-000-0000
     
Loading...