Trying to find faith of some sort?

Spnlover

Jun 18, 2012
✟7,611.00
Faith
Agnostic
Marital Status
Single
Sorry if this is the wrong forum, as you can probaly guess I'm very new to this. Basically, I'm going through a really bad emotional time right now. Sometimes I'm really happy, but a lot of the time I feel completly empty and lost and unloved. It's stupid because I have great friends and family, but inside really depressed, like something is missing.

I've had a vaguely christian upbringing, but I've always had a issues believing, because I'm quite sciency, and very cycnical by nature. Yet at the same time I've always felt there's something more, and would really like to explore that because even just being here on this forum is making me feel better.

I guess I'm asking how I can put my cycnical nature to the side, and gain some kind of faith. I'm not going to be the kind of christian who is like "homosexualty is wrong, you have to beleive or your going to hell" (which I'm sure not a lot of people are like, but it's often the impression I get, as the current main christian influence in my life is the CofE campign agasint gay marrige.) but I really like the whole non judgemental, love, community side and would love to be a part of that, but am really stuggling to get past my cycnical nature (sorry for repetition)

Thanks for taking the time to read. It's odd but I do feel a bit better haiving purged my emotions, so if anything I at least i have that I guess. But again, thanks and apologies if this doesn't belong here.

jehoiakim

Servant
Jun 24, 2011
New Jersey
✟17,202.00
Faith
Messianic
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Libertarian
THe sciency nature is part of you and who God created you to be, perhaps you should embrace it and start with a book like the Case for Christ by Lee Strobel... Christianity is a raterh broad term and it represents many many different interpretations of God's word, many of whom mainstream Christianity would label Heretical.