The difference between Anglicans, Presbyterians, Lutherans, Baptists, Methodists...?

schpoogie

Sep 30, 2011
Australia
✟7,700.00
Faith
Seeker
Marital Status
Private
Hi all,
I was just wondering in simple words, what are the differences between all the denominations (Anglican, Presbyterian, Lutheran....etc etc etc).
Maybe if you belong to a certain demonination you could explain briefly what defines your denomination.

I know i could search on the forum, and if no one replies i guess i'll stop being lazy and i'll research
But yeah, i was just wondering.

If there are little differences, has anyone tried to unite all the denominations under one banner.
I'm pretty new to Christianity, and i thought it would be awesome if we could all worship together under one church.

I believe in the 5 solas, Faith alone, Grace alone, Scriptures alone, Christ alone, gloy to God alone
:)

MarkRohfrietsch

Unapologetic Apologist
Site Supporter
Dec 8, 2007
✟825,036.00
Country
Canada
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married
Generally The number of sacraments diminish the younger the denomination, eventually to none. And then starts to cross over to sacraments =bad

Such is indeed the case with regard to reformed protestant denominations.

My Mom was raised Anglican, they retain the 7 sacraments, but because of reformed influences, members are for the most part free to take or leave the "official" teaching, and accept or reject their efficacy. Liberal, non confessional Lutherans are about the same; which is why they are in fellowship with Anglicans.