Old Earth, New Creation? What Do You Think?

Status
Not open for further replies.

prophecy4

Jul 24, 2006
Las Vegas, NV
✟303.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
In Relationship
Politics
US-Others
I'm not a scientist, but here is my theory.

What if the earth is as old as scientist say it is? That doesn't negate the Christian belief in 6,000 to 7,000 years of human history.

I don't believe in the gap theory, nor do I believe in evolution.

I think God created the Earth for some other reason originally. "In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth, and the earth was without form and void."

The Hebrew and Aramaic translations suggest that the earth "became" without form and void.

After whatever happened, I believe God created man. A few ancient cultures have myths about multiple creations.

I know as a Christian, we shouldn't believe in myths, but every myth and legend has a hint of truth. To support my theory, here is a Bible verse.

"And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it: and have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth upon the earth." Genesis 1:28

How do you replinish something that never had anything on it?

rmwilliamsll

avid reader
Mar 19, 2004
✟7,946.00
Faith
Calvinist
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Green
Upvote 0

prophecy4

Jul 24, 2006
Las Vegas, NV
✟303.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
In Relationship
Politics
US-Others
rmwilliamsll said:
Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth,

that is the problem from arguing from a translation and the meaning of the English word.

the word means to fill. no overtones of refill or fill again etc.
just to fill.

Microsoft Encarta defines replinish as "replace used items in a stock"

i'm not sure what dictionary you have, but that's what mine says.