✟17,351.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
IMO it is.

I realize many, including some Christians think it's fine.

I'm a Christian musician. I'm a hobbyist w/ a few published songs. I've got a day job and there's no way I'll go on tour any time in the near future. For me, the ideas of p2p and piracy are anathema. I absolutely hate the idea that music should be free (unless the artist wants it to be free) and I cherish the idea of intellectual property.

I'll never make money off the trinkets - the t-shirts and the coffee cups. Because I don't tour. I'm not really keen to be a trinket salesman anyway.

What do you think? Do you think p2p and the notion that pirate downloading of copyrighted material is fine?

Peace,

In Christ,

Ian

Last edited:

Ian Ferrin

Apr 29, 2013
Sierra Nevada high country
✟17,351.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
I don't think it's OK. However, the ease of doing it is such that musicians need a new business model.
The only new business model I've seen people propose is going on tour and selling trinkets along w/ their music. It's a pretty crummy business model. Especially for the recording musician. Got any better ideas?

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Sketcher

Born Imperishable
Feb 23, 2004
✟380,049.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Republican
Not really, but I'm not a musician. I haven't put any decent amount of thought into it.

With visual art, at least you can control the highest-quality copies, or you know who to go after. You then release and watermark lower-quality Internet copies only, if that.

Upvote 0

Ian Ferrin

Apr 29, 2013
✟17,351.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
Thanks Sketcher.

I'm not sure there is a better business model. The musicians that make a living at it tour and sell the t-shirts. There ARE some that sell a lot of background music, advertising, corporate video work, but not that many.