Jul 20, 2015
Perth, Australia
Visit site
✟366.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
I just logged on here thinking about what God desires from musicians... As a musician I often find myself struggling with pride, suppiority, inferiority, fear, etc. What does God have to say we should be like as musicians? I know we shouldn't be proud and should find security in God... those are "christian" answers, but why and how?

Dave-W

Welcoming grandchild #7, Arturus Waggoner!
Site Supporter
Jun 18, 2014
Maryland - just north of D.C.
Visit site
✟771,800.00
Country
United States
Faith
Messianic
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
I have been struggling with proud, superiority attitude christian musicians for 40 years. They have to lead. They have to be seen by everyone. Theirs is the only musical sensibility that matters. rubbish.

We are called to be servants. While it may be hard for people with artistic temperaments to do that, it is what we are called to do. Use our talents to serve God and serve (be a blessing) one another. NOT our selves or our agendas. That is only serving self which is the opposite of christianity.

There is a line in traditional Jewish liturgy which many Messianic congregations keep. It is at the beginning of the Torah service (reading from the books of Moses) and it says:

Anakhnu avadim d'kudisha [b'richu]
We are servants of the Holy One. [blessed be He]

It is good to remind our selves of that fact OFTEN.

Last edited:
Reactions: CARadke
Upvote 0

iluvatar5150

Aug 3, 2012
Baltimore
✟557,370.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Democrat
Feelings of inferiority are part and parcel of being an artist and someone who's self-aware enough to be constantly improving. Most of the rest of those feelings are also typical of someone who's trying to be good at something.

Upvote 0

SwordmanJr

Double-edged Sword only
Nov 11, 2014
Oklahoma City
✟43,962.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private