1. Welcome to Christian Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Christianity in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Evangelical Reading List

Discussion in 'Baptists' started by D+C, Feb 14, 2012.

1. D+C

D+C Catechumen in the British Orthodox Church

Faith:
    Christian
    Hi all,

I am on something of a winding journey, and following some thoughtful prayer (and prayerful thought) and some excellent advice I am beginning to explore evangelical faith. My background is in Anglo Catholicism, but I am now wanting to immerse myself in evangelical history, theology, apologetics and culture to equip me to attend the independent baptist chapel in my new village.

I intend to re-read the Bible and have bought an ESV Study Bible to assist me, but what I am looking for is a comprehensive reading list to introduce me to the above topics. I have scoured the internet for such a list and have pretty much drawn a blank. Does anyone know of a good list as a starting point? Or maybe a few lists/recommendations to combine? Some British histories/authors would be appreciated!

Many thanks and God bless.
    D+C

2. Saved_n_kept

Saved_n_kept Pilgrim and Stranger

Faith:
    Presbyterian
    Hi D+C,

The Metropolitan Tabernacle Bookshop has a reading list. It is split into two parts, "startup" and "sequel." It might be some help.Read for the Lord - Books

God bless,

Brian. :)

3. D+C

Faith:
    Christian
    Thank you very much, a good starting point I feel. I think I need to blend a few together. For example William Lane Craig provides an excellent list on apologetics, whereas the list you have provided seems much more balanced.

4. Publius