Expert Fool
Sep 16, 2010
✟155,600.00
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married
Is all economic value rooted in labor?

I don't remember anything from my college economics course, and I've never studied economic theory, so I don't even know where to begin looking for opinions on this topic (other than a Google search).

When young I was a tech-geek and had no interest in such things. I'm still pretty ambivalent when it comes to many material things, but recently I have had a growing interest in business. Last night I saw an interview with Jill Stein where she was going to fix all working class problems (uh-huh) by cutting this and cutting that. I don't get it, though. If, for example, we drastically cut military spending doesn't that just unemploy all the military contractors, the support staff for their businesses, the places they shop, etc. I understand someone might be opposed to military spending because they're a pacifist, but I don't see the economic argument. Wouldn't it just shift labor from this bucket to that bucket? It seems employing the working class should be about growth, which should be about value creation, not cutting things.

Oafman

Try telling that to these bog brained murphys
Dec 19, 2012
Malice
✟28,559.00
Faith
Atheist
Marital Status
Private
Politics
UK-Labour
If, for example, we drastically cut military spending doesn't that just unemploy all the military contractors, the support staff for their businesses, the places they shop, etc. I understand someone might be opposed to military spending because they're a pacifist, but I don't see the economic argument. Wouldn't it just shift labor from this bucket to that bucket?