Stryder06

Check the signature
Jan 9, 2009
✟31,839.00
Faith
SDA
Marital Status
Married
This question is really for Catholics, but anyone can answer. Mind you I'm looking for a serious response, no ulterior motive here. I don't know how accurate this is, but Pastor John MacArthur stated that the catholic church holds to a belief that one cannot, outside of special revelation, be certain of their salvation. Apparently this was something that was part of the council of Trent.

Now I have no knowledge about what happened during the council of Trent, or what that means as far as what the catholic church teaches today, but I was quite certain that those of you I've interacted with here were certain of your salvation.

Any clarification on this would be greatly appreciated.

Yarddog

Senior Contributor
Site Supporter
Jun 25, 2008
Louisville, Ky
✟818,015.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married
This question is really for Catholics, but anyone can answer. Mind you I'm looking for a serious response, no ulterior motive here. I don't know how accurate this is, but Pastor John MacArthur stated that the catholic church holds to a belief that one cannot, outside of special revelation, be certain of their salvation. Apparently this was something that was part of the council of Trent.

Now I have no knowledge about what happened during the council of Trent, or what that means as far as what the catholic church teaches today, but I was quite certain that those of you I've interacted with here were certain of your salvation.

You may have to define what you mean by assurance of salvation.
Joint Declaration on the Doctrine of Justification
This is from the Joint Declaration with the Lutheran Church.

vuoto.gif

4.6 Assurance of Salvation