Jul 9, 2015
✟144,014.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Private
Politics
US-Democrat
I was one as an early teen, 35 or so years back. The priest was unusual at that time allowing altar girls. I enjoyed it, and now my son serves mass... (and gasp, sometimes I'm a lector. ..it makes me a bit nervous even though I basically talk to groups for a living )

Upvote 0

Theatreguy18

The Episcopal avenger
Jun 15, 2015
Charleston S.C.
✟13,529.00
Country
United States
Faith
Episcopalian
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Democrat
I don't care. I believe anyone that wants to sincerely serve should be able to as long as they are in good standing with the church.
That's kinda were I fall too in my opinion

Upvote 0

Theatreguy18

The Episcopal avenger
Jun 15, 2015
Charleston S.C.
✟13,529.00
Country
United States
Faith
Episcopalian
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Democrat
I was one as an early teen, 35 or so years back. The priest was unusual at that time allowing altar girls. I enjoyed it, and now my son serves mass... (and gasp, sometimes I'm a lector. ..it makes me a bit nervous even though I basically talk to groups for a living )
I consider myself a prolife feminist so I'm in favor of altar girls but I have seen the one church were they danced around the altar that was not ok but if it's tasteful and reverent then it's fine

Reactions: MikeK
Upvote 0

Fantine

Dona Quixote
Site Supporter
Jun 11, 2005
✟1,087,273.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Democrat
<STAFF EDIT>

OBOB members have said many times that boys (who might become priests one day) are loath to become altar servers if girls are altar servers.

Some have said that girls should not be allowed in the sanctuary. Some have included that to exclude female lectors....