✟158,594.00
Country
Canada
Faith
Baptist
Marital Status
Single
Hi,

I'm new to faith in Christ but have a background of going to convert to Judaism. One of the main reasons I chose not to, besides questioning Judaism altogether, was that I wouldn't technically be a Jew by law and would be considered to be "just like Ruth"(who was a Moabite in my eyes, never an Israelite.)
My first question is, is it possible to join the Messianic Jewish movement and be seen as a Jew even if I can't prove it ancestrally? I don't want to be considered a convert and not an Israelite, I truly believe if not know entirely that I'm a lost sheep of the house of Israel.

Another question, and I don't want it up for debate, so preferably only Messianic Jews who believe Christ is God answer, but is there a big division in the movement for those who believe Christ is God and those who believe He isn't? I believe He is, and my faith will not waiver in this.

To go along with my second question, I know of a synagogue around here that has a few members but they are mostly compromised of Jews who do not believe Jesus is God and only the Messiah. As a Messianic Jew who believes Jesus is God, would you attend this synagogue? I felt really uncomfortable once I found out they did not, and doubt I would feel comfortable at services as again, it's small.

Fourth, do some Messianic Jews still celebrate Christmas & Easter? Again, I don't want a debate running, and I don't need to know the facts as I already know both sides to the argument, I just want to know if some still do or don't.

Fifth, is God's name typically seen as YHVH? Aswell, is it true that YHWH is not possible because there is no w sound in Hebrew? That is what I was told by the Rabbi I talked to, aswell googled it quickly and saw some sites saying that.

Hopefully I can get these answered, thank you for your time.

visionary

Your God is my God... Ruth said, so say I.
Site Supporter
Mar 25, 2004
✟575,142.44
Faith
Messianic